Walking Breaks Gallery

Scenery Gallery

Courses Gallery

MT_ASSOCIATION_rgb.jpg
 
CrickTVsmall.jpg

Upcoming Events

Screen_shot_2013-09-03_at_10.56.52.png

AT A GLANCE...

What's on when and where...

Here's a list of my scheduled courses and walking events.

In addition to these scheduled courses, I offer personal tuition and guided walks every day.

Please contact me for more information about what's on.

There are no more scheduled courses this year, although there is still limited availability for personal tuition and private guiding.

 

==============================

2018

==============================

 

JANUARY

Tue/Wed 9/10 Jan – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 2

Tue 9 Jan @ 10.00am – Contour Recognition

Wed 10 Jan @ 10.00am – Relocation Skills

Sat/Sun 13/14 Jan – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 1

Sat 13 Jan @ 10:00am – Map Interpretation

Sun 14 Jan @ 10.00am – Micro-navigation/Poor Visibility Techniques

Tue/Wed 23/24 Jan – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 1

Tue 23 Jan @ 10:00am – Map Interpretation

Wed 24 Jan @ 10.00am – Micro-navigation/Poor Visibility Techniques

Sat/Sun 27/28 Jan – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 2

Sat 27 Jan @ 10.00am – Contour Recognition

Sun 28 Jan @ 10.00am – Relocation Skills

 

FEBRUARY

Tue/Wed 6/7 Feb – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 2

Tue 6 Feb @ 10.00am – Contour Recognition

Wed 7 Feb @ 10.00am – Relocation Skills

Sat/Sun 3/4 Feb – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 1

Sat 3 Feb @ 10:00am – Map Interpretation

Sun 4 Feb @ 10.00am – Micro-navigation/Poor Visibility Techniques

Tue/Wed 20/21 Feb – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 1

Tue 20 Feb @ 10:00am – Map Interpretation

Wed 21 Feb @ 10.00am – Micro-navigation/Poor Visibility Techniques

Sat 24 Feb/Sun 4 Mar – Crickhowell Walking Festival

 

MARCH

Sat 24 Feb/Sun 4 Mar – Crickhowell Walking Festival

Tue/Wed 6/7 Feb – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 2

Tue 6 Mar @ 10.00am – Contour Recognition

Wed 7 Mar @ 10.00am – Relocation Skills

Sat/Sun 10/11 Mar – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 1

Sat 10 Mar @ 10:00am – Map Interpretation

Sun 11 Mar @ 10.00am – Micro-navigation/Poor Visibility Techniques

Tue/Wed 20/21 Mar – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 1

Tue 20 Mar @ 10:00am – Map Interpretation

Wed 21 Mar @ 10.00am – Micro-navigation/Poor Visibility Techniques

Sat/Sun 24/25 Mar – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 2

Sat 24 Mar @ 10.00am – Contour Recognition

Sun 25 Mar @ 10.00am – Relocation Skills

 

APRIL

Tue/Wed 3/4 Apr – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 2

Tue 3 Apr @ 10.00am – Contour Recognition

Wed 4 Apr @ 10.00am – Relocation Skills

Sat/Sun 7/8 Apr – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 1

Sat 7 Apr @ 10:00am – Map Interpretation

Sun 8 Apr @ 10.00am – Micro-navigation/Poor Visibility Techniques

Tue/Wed 17/18 Apr – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 1

Tue 17 Apr @ 10:00am – Map Interpretation

Wed 18 Apr @ 10.00am – Micro-navigation/Poor Visibility Techniques

Sat/Sun 21/22 Apr – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 2

Sat 21 Apr @ 10.00am – Contour Recognition

Sun 22 Apr @ 10.00am – Relocation Skills

 

MAY

Tue/Wed 8/9 May – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 2

Tue 8 May @ 10.00am – Contour Recognition

Wed 9 May @ 10.00am – Relocation Skills

Sat/Sun 12/13 May – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 1

Sat 12 May @ 10:00am – Map Interpretation

Sun 13 May @ 10.00am – Micro-navigation/Poor Visibility Techniques

Tue/Wed 22/23 May – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 1

Tue 22 May @ 10:00am – Map Interpretation

Wed 23 May @ 10.00am – Micro-navigation/Poor Visibility Techniques

 

JUNE

Tue/Wed 5/6 Jun – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 2

Tue 5 Jun @ 10.00am – Contour Recognition

Wed 6 Jun @ 10.00am – Relocation Skills

Sat/Sun 9/10 Jun – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 1

Sat 9 Jun @ 10:00am – Map Interpretation

Sun 10 Jun @ 10.00am – Micro-navigation/Poor Visibility Techniques

Tue/Wed 19/20 Jun – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 1

Tue 19 Jun @ 10:00am – Map Interpretation

Wed 20 Jun @ 10.00am – Micro-navigation/Poor Visibility Techniques

Sat/Sun 23/24 Jun – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 2

Sat 23 Jun @ 10.00am – Contour Recognition

Sun 24 Jun @ 10.00am – Relocation Skills

 

JULY

Tue/Wed 3/4 Jul – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 2

Tue 3 Jul @ 10.00am – Contour Recognition

Wed 4 Jul @ 10.00am – Relocation Skills

Sat/Sun 7/8 Jul – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 1

Sat 7 Jul @ 10:00am – Map Interpretation

Sun 8 Jul @ 10.00am – Micro-navigation/Poor Visibility Techniques

Tue/Wed 17/18 Jul – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 1

Tue 17 Jul @ 10:00am – Map Interpretation

Wed 18 Jul @ 10.00am – Micro-navigation/Poor Visibility Techniques

Sat/Sun 21/22 Jul – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 2

Sat 21 Jul @ 10.00am – Contour Recognition

Sun 22 Jul @ 10.00am – Relocation Skills

 

AUGUST

Tue/Wed 7/8 Aug – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 2

Tue 7 Aug @ 10.00am – Contour Recognition

Wed 8 Aug @ 10.00am – Relocation Skills

Sat/Sun 11/12 Aug – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 1

Sat 11 Aug @ 10:00am – Map Interpretation

Sun 12 Aug @ 10.00am – Micro-navigation/Poor Visibility Techniques

Tue/Wed 21/22 Aug – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 1

Tue 21 Aug @ 10:00am – Map Interpretation

Wed 22 Aug @ 10.00am – Micro-navigation/Poor Visibility Techniques

 

SEPTEMBER

Tue/Wed 4/5 Sep – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 2

Tue 4 Sep @ 10.00am – Contour Recognition

Wed 5 Sep @ 10.00am – Relocation Skills

Sat/Sun 8/9 Sep – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 1

Sat 8 Sep @ 10:00am – Map Interpretation

Sun 9 Sep @ 10.00am – Micro-navigation/Poor Visibility Techniques

Tue/Wed 18/19 Sep – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 1

Tue 18 Sep @ 10:00am – Map Interpretation

Wed 19 Sep @ 10.00am – Micro-navigation/Poor Visibility Techniques

Sat/Sun 22/23 Sep – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 2

Sat 22 Sep @ 10.00am – Contour Recognition

Sun 23 Sep @ 10.00am – Relocation Skills

 

OCTOBER

Tue/Wed 9/10 Oct – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 2

Tue 9 Oct @ 10.00am – Contour Recognition

Wed 10 Oct @ 10.00am – Relocation Skills

Sat/Sun 13/14 Oct – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 1

Sat 13 Oct @ 10:00am – Map Interpretation

Sun 14 Oct @ 10.00am – Micro-navigation/Poor Visibility Techniques

Tue/Wed 23/24 Oct – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 1

Tue 23 Oct @ 10:00am – Map Interpretation

Wed 24 Oct @ 10.00am – Micro-navigation/Poor Visibility Techniques

Sat/Sun 27/28 Oct – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 2

Sat 27 Oct @ 10.00am – Contour Recognition

Sun 28 Oct @ 10.00am – Relocation Skills

 

NOVEMBER

Tue/Wed 6/7 Nov – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 2

Tue 6 Nov @ 10.00am – Contour Recognition

Wed 7 Nov @ 10.00am – Relocation Skills

Sat/Sun 10/11 Nov – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 1

Sat 10 Nov @ 10:00am – Map Interpretation

Sun 11 Nov @ 10.00am – Micro-navigation/Poor Visibility Techniques

Tue/Wed 20/21 Nov – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 1

Tue 20 Nov @ 10:00am – Map Interpretation

Wed 21 Nov @ 10.00am – Micro-navigation/Poor Visibility Techniques

Sat/Sun 24/25 Nov – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 2

Sat 24 Nov @ 10.00am – Contour Recognition

Sun 25 Nov @ 10.00am – Relocation Skills

 

DECEMBER

Tue/Wed 4/5 Dec – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 2

Tue 4 Dec @ 10.00am – Contour Recognition

Wed 5 Dec @ 10.00am – Relocation Skills

Sat/Sun 8/9 Dec – Mountain & Moorland Navigation – Stage 1

Sat 8 Dec @ 10:00am – Map Interpretation

Sun 9 Dec @ 10.00am – Micro-navigation/Poor Visibility Techniques

 

All courses are available on a personal tuition basis by request. I also offer training in a wide range of other hill skills.

Guided walks are available by arrangement on any date.

 

E&OE


 

A note about difficulty...

I grade my walks in three categories...
Stroll – A straightforward walk of less than 10kms, mostly on good paths.
Stretch – Mainly between 10kms and 15kms, these walks are slightly more demanding and may include short, steep climbs or sections of rough terrain.
Strenuous – Full-on hill-walking with long or steep climbs, sometimes on difficult terrain.


 

Unless stated otherwise, courses & walks are based in Crickhowell, on the A40 between Abergavenny & Brecon, in the Brecon Beacons National Park.

Please click on each event for further information.